DIY Weekend

I have some things to share today that I am pretty excited about.

First of all, the mister has been getting really into riding his bike lately (mostly for the sake of trying to break a world record:).  Anyway, the bike he’s been riding wasn’t all that great.  It’s one he found near a dumpster and fixed up which is pretty cool but he was very much in need of a new bike if there was any chance of him increasing his speed. So Friday he got a new bike as an early birthday gift:)  He loves it and that makes me happy.  Going on bike rides with him also makes me happy which we did a couple times this weekend.

His and hers bicycles

Saturday was pretty cool too.  I got crafty after seeing this post.   I work out from home which I prefer most of the time, but sometimes you got to get creative when you don’t have a lot of money to spend on new workout equipment:)  Needless to say I’m very grateful I saw the freckled lifters post!

So after a quick trip to Home Depot and some help from Dom, I now have my own squat rack which I’m excited to use for leg day tomorrow.  I think it will really help me improve my squat form and help me increase my weight.  It’s not much to look at but it works for now!

Moving on.

I love jam.  I don’t love all the added sugar that is in jam.  It’s so unnecessary. Needless to say I haven’t had jam in awhile.  But my no jam days are now over!!  I have been hearing that one can use chia seeds to make jam but I had never tried it before until yesterday.  I am in love.  I made a small batch of  strawberry lime jam and have enjoyed it on protein pancakes as well as in my oatmeal this morning mixed with sunflower seed butter.  MMM, delicious.

So here is the recipe:

Strawberry Lime Chia Jam

Servings 12

Serving size 1 tablespoon

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup fresh squeezed lime juice (about 2 limes)
  • 1 cup sliced fresh strawberries
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 5 drops of stevia (I used vanilla)

Instructions:

1.  Place juice and strawberries in small saucepan, bring to a boil.

2.  Mash up the berries and turn down heat.  Let simmer for about 10 minutes.

3.  Mix in chia seeds and stevia and let cool.

So yummy over pumpkin pancakes with peanut flour sauce (3 tablespoons peanut flour, a pinch of salt and stevia, and almond milk)

Here is a comparison of the nutrition info of this jam and an average strawberry jam from the store:

Store Bought (1 tablespoon)                                             My Jam (1 tablespoon)

Calories:  50                                                                                 Calories: 10

Carbs:  13                                                                                        Carbs:  2

Sugars:  12                                                                                      Sugars:  1    

Those are some stats I’m pretty excited about.

Well that’s all for the day.  I hope you try out the jam.  I promise it’s so yummy.

❤   

5 thoughts on “DIY Weekend

  1. Pingback: September Recap… | brave hannah

  2. Pingback: Recap of October Goals and Breakfasts! | brave hannah

Leave a Reply

