Going Vegan

I’m back!! I’ve been a little MIA for a bit! And in that short amount of time a lot has happened. So let’s get to it.

So as I mentioned before during October I participated in the Plantpower Challenge.  I didn’t eat completely plant based but tried to incorporate more plant based foods into my diet especially plant based protein.  I really liked it and learned a lot from it.  There were a few reasons why I wanted to participate in the challenge.  For one, more plant foods is never a bad thing:) Another reason is because like Kasey from the Powercakes blog I have been suffering from digestive issues including bloating, severe stomachaches/pains, and irregularity for the past several months.  And it was always worse at night.  I felt as though I’d tried everything!  I have tried eliminating certain foods out of my diet (i.e. grains, dairy, peanut flour/peanut butter, etc.)  Nothing seemed to work for very long.  I would feel good for a little while (a few days at a time) but then it would be back to stomachaches!  Not fun at all.  Dom is a huge support though.  I’m sure it’s gets old listening to me cry about it everyday:(  So after following Kasey and finding out she seems to suffer from basically the same things as me  I decided to try eliminating all animal protein from my diet.  It seemed to work out really great for her so I figured it was worth a shot.  So it’s been over 3 weeks now and honestly,  I feel pretty great:)

I really do.

I feel like I have finally found out what was causing the problems and I’m so grateful.   So if giving up meat/dairy is what is going to help me feel great than I am all for it!

delicious mix of:  unsweetened soy yogurt, chia seeds, almond milk, peanut flour, cinnamon and stevia plus a side of red bell peppers

delicious mix of: unsweetened soy yogurt, chia seeds, almond milk, peanut flour, cinnamon and stevia plus a side of red bell peppers

It’s been a great learning experience mixing up my meals and getting enough plant protein in my diet.  Honestly, it’s been pretty easy.  I didn’t realize how much protein is in vegetables, nutritional yeast, nuts, seeds, etc.  I am loving hemp seeds!

Anyway, so this past week I did want to test it. So I added eggs back in ( just a couple times a week) and so far no problem with eggs.

On Thanksgiving I had turkey and oh man, worst stomachache!! I was in so much pain.  But hey at least now I know.  No meat for me:)

Cardamom coconut sweet potato mash for Thanksgiving dinner

I will probably cut out eggs still too for the most part at least.  Sometimes I miss them (but that’s the only thing I’ve missed surprisingly enough).  Sometimes I miss the convenience of them too.  But like I’m said, I’m learning a lot and finding out I can use other things besides eggs:)

Anyway, Sorry for the wordy post, just wanted to clue you in on what’s happening with me.

I’m glad I tested my diet because I have found what works for me.  Don’t be afraid to switch up your diet if needed!  What works for some may not work for others so find what helps you feel great!  “Be true to you!”

3 thoughts on “Going Vegan

  1. Pingback: Eat the Food to Heal Metabolic Damage | brave hannah

Leave a Reply

