Get Vegucated.

I did.

As I mentioned in my previous post I have adopted a plant-based (or vegan) diet for my own personal health.  (which I’m still loving.) And although I had no intentions of adding animal products back in to my diet besides the occasional egg, I have decided there is definitely no going back now.

Last week after the recommendation of a friend, Dom and I watched the documentary Vegucated.  All I can say is wow.

MV5BMjIxMDg4NTcxN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODQ3MTYwNw@@._V1._SY317_CR1,0,214,317_

It was a very eye-opening and intense film while still being funny and light-hearted at times.   I understand that this film was a little biased but the basics were there.  Although it is not a pushy or judgmental film at all I felt so selfish by the end of it.  Selfish for relying so much on animal products to try and build more muscle.  I didn’t realize how unnecessary that was, at least for me.  It’s really not hard to build muscle on a vegan diet.  I’ve noticed some good gains since eating a plant based diet.  Like some really good gains:)

GO-GREEN-PROTEIN-PLANTS-INS1

Anyway, the film follows 3 people who are meat and cheese lovers who adopt a vegan diet for 6 weeks in hopes of losing weight/getting healthy.  It uncovers the hidden parts of animal agriculture and factory farming.  It’s pretty sad and disgusting to say the least.  I won’t get into all the details, but I encourage you to watch it for yourselves.  Even if you have no desire in becoming vegan/vegetarian I think it’s good to watch just to educate yourself so you can make better choices when deciding where to purchase your meat and dairy.

I have seen a few documentaries and videos about factory farming and animal cruelty in my life but still made no changes in my diet except buying organic when possible.  But for some reason this really got me.  I guess I’m just in a different place in my life where I’m realizing that the way we get our meat, milk, eggs, etc is just not ok and I do not want to be a part of it.  I do not want to be a part of such a careless and violent industry.    Of course I believe in doing what is right for you.

I don’t believe meat is unhealthy.

It can absolutely be a part of a healthy diet.  But I’m also realizing that we do not need  it to survive; we can get all the vitamins, protein, etc that we need to from plant foods.   I enjoy meat and eggs but for myself I just can no longer give my money to an industry that THROWS AWAY animals because they are sick instead of giving them the care they need.  I’m not trying to be preachy and saying that veganism is the only way.  Of course not.  I’m in no place to say that especially because I’m so newly vegan.  I just think it’s important to be aware of how things are done so we can fight it and make smarter/kinder choices.  That is the only way things will change.

I’ve done some research of my own and here are some other reasons why I am choosing to stick with eating mostly plant based:

  • Farms used for meat and dairy production are huge sources of waste and air pollution. Just one large farm can create more waste than the entire city of Los Angeles!
  • Over 70% of grain produced in the US is fed to animals raised for slaughter.  To get just one pound of meat, it takes a full 15 pounds of grain. If this grain were given directly to people, there would be enough food to feed EVERYONE.  Plus the land the animals are raised on can be used to grow significantly more food than the land currently provides.  Now that’s a big deal.
  • With droughts happening all over the country, water is getting more valuable.  I found out it takes 2,500 gallons of water to produce just ONE pound of meat, as opposed to just 25 gallons for one pound of grain. CRAZY!!

Dom has also decided to adopt a mostly vegetarian diet eating meat only when we go out to eat or are at someone’s house which is amazing I think.  This will also make cooking a lot easier:)

Anyway, sorry if I sounded preachy or self righteous.  I don’t mean to be at all!  You have to do what’s right for you!  And for me this is it.  My eyes have been opened and I’m excited for all of the different things I am learning about fueling my body and workouts properly on a vegan diet.

Congrats if you made it to the end of this post;)

Be kind everyone.

4 thoughts on “Get Vegucated.

  1. Pingback: Eat the Food to Heal Metabolic Damage | brave hannah

Leave a Reply

