Why Today is Amazing

Today is amazing for many reasons.

The weekend was awesome and it put me in such a positive mood for the day.

Saturday consisted of sleeping in

tree decorating

Pretty!

Pretty!

Christmas Shopping (Pretty much done!!)

and crossing things off our 24 Days of Togetherness countdown:)

Including wearing red and green:)

Including wearing red and green:)

It was wonderful.  We ended the night at Chipotle then came home to make Christmas cookies:)

I made my version of these and dom made peanut butter m&m cookies.

So yummy.

Sunday I worked with my sister and that was great because she’s great:)

After work we went to a Christmas party with my old co-workers and it was so fun and great to see some old friends:)

Another amazing thing.  I’m on day six of no calorie counting!! I’ve been counting for over 2 years.  It was helpful at first but I feel it’s been doing more harm than good the past several months and it just drives me CRAZY and it was time to quit it.  I’ve tried to several times and this time it’s working.  I made a decision last week to quit, said a little prayer in my head that I would be able to do it, and I did it!  I’ve heard people say how freeing it is to finally be able to quit counting calories and let me tell you, they are right!  It’s a strange amazing feeling!  It made going out to eat on Saturday night so much more enjoyable as well as enjoying a couple of cookies Saturday night without worrying so much about the numbers.  I feel great as well.  I had so many worries about quitting.  Stupid things like I will all of the sudden gain weight because I will be eating too much! Or I won’t be eating enough and all of my hard work in the gym will be worthless, etc.  Well those things don’t seem to be happening.  If anything I’ve been able to listen to my body more and eat when I need to and don’t eat when I’m not hungry instead of relying on getting x amount of calories during the day.   I’m just so grateful:)

Another reason today is AMAZING:

I had such a good lower body workout today full of leg presses, squats, leg extensions, etc.  I’m thinking I’ll be sore tomorrow.

18577417183905341_fuKOvIYx_c

I’ve been increasing weight on several things pretty consistently lately (Plantpower, baby!)  including today!  Whoop whoop! 🙂  I struggle with added muscle in my legs but I’ve been seeing some muscle sneak in!  Feels good to be reaching my goals.

So that’s why today is great for me:)

What is making your day amazing?

7 thoughts on “Why Today is Amazing

  1. Motivating post! Calorie counting is a great start to see where you are nutrition wise and eventually where you want to be, but it’s not realistic to do for the rest of your life! Two years is a long time to calorie count. Portion control and exercise, there’s no easier weight loss method than that, well, with maybe a little discipline 😉 Sounds like you’re already there.

    • Thanks for your comment! Yes calorie counting was very helpful when I first got into nutrition and fitness a few years ago but it just causes more stress than is needed now. It’s not about losing weight for me anymore anyway but I just couldn’t seem to kick the habit and lose that sense of control I guess!

  2. Hello! I saw your high five Friday and was really excited! I have calorie counted for almost 7 years now and I want to stop so badly. How are you doing it? I’m worried for the same reasons: I don’t want to gain weight and I don’t want to end up not eating enough. I started calorie counting when I developed anorexia and I am terrified of going back to that so I do it not only to give me peace of mind that I’m not eating too much, but also to make sure I am getting enough so I don’t slip. But I want to stop now!! Just this morning I was out of my usual breakfast so I spent forever trying to think of something else that was the same amount of calories instead of just having something I wanted. Sorry to write a novel haha. Any tips would be great! And way to go! That I awesome!!! You should be very proud of yourself 🙂

    • Hi Alyssa!
      Thank you for your support:) I understand what you’re going through! I hope I can help you at least a little bit! I tried to quit a couple times before having success. I guess you just have to be really ready to let it go (which it sounds like you are;).
      One morning last week my insides just weren’t feeling great and I was getting really annoyed with having numbers direct my food choices. (I honestly believe the stress of worrying about it is really hard on the body.) Anyway, so that morning I just decided I have to stop this and I told myself to “just forget it”. I didn’t want to remember the numbers anymore. A few things that helped was adding up calories per meal but not adding them together. Another thing was changing up my meals a little bit (but still keeping them healthy!) so that way I wouldn’t know the calories. I had moments when I really wanted to look up the calories or add them but I wouldn’t let myself. It’s gotten a lot easier. I’ve learned that since I have been eating healthy for so long, I naturally make healthy food choices without needing to count. I’m sure since you have been counting so long as well, you will be the same way! I know these tips aren’t anything spectacular but that’s how I did it. Just practice portion control and you will be great! I know it because I am, and I’m telling you I feel really good. I haven’t gained any weight or lost any energy from not eating enough. It is very freeing and I want that for you! (Sorry for the novel as well!) Just listen to your body, it will tell you what it needs. I believe in you!

      • Thank you so much for replying! I think I might start with a few days a week and then go from there! I know I shouldn’t worry so much because I always eat very healthfully. I have for so long that that is what I honestly just crave now and am turned off by processed foods etc. I think counting calories just makes me feel safe but I want to feel that way without the madness of all the numbers! Sometimes I will get to my allotted number but am still hungry and I just freak out because I don’t want to not eat of I’m hungry but… I’m at my limit! Ugh so frustrating. And it shouldn’t be. Thank you so much for the tips and inspiration!

      • Hey Alyssa! It’s been awhile I know but I just wanted to check in with ya. I know exactly how you feel about getting to your calorie limit and still being hungry!! Not fun. Its been about a month now since I’ve stopped counting and it really has gotten so much easier. I really don’t even think about it anymore. I just pick healthy options and use portion control:) I’ve been careful to really listen to my body and feed it when I’m still hungry and I’ve been feeling really good:) And no weight gain/or loss! I just wanted to write you again to encourage you to give it a shot if you haven’t yet. I know you can do it! Honestly, Hannah

  3. Pingback: Normal Happy Eating. | brave hannah

Leave a Reply

