Nutty Dill Sauce Recipe!

It’s been FOREVER!!

But I’m back now so don’t worry;)  I am alive and well.  It’s been a pretty busy first month of the year!

There have been some big, but awesome changes at my work, I’ve been trying to be more involved in my church, and one more thing that I haven’t mentioned yet:

I’ve been studying to become a certified personal trainer!  I’m pretty excited about it!! I will hopefully be certified within a few months but we will see how it goes:)

For now though, I have a recipe to share!  It actually started out as something else but that was a big fail so I turned it into a delicious sauce/dip!!

Over the weekend I made some lentil burgers and had some left over sunflower seeds and cashews that had been soaked so I wanted to use them up!  I decided to make some Cashew sunflower seed butter but it did not turn out!!

Raw sunflower seeds don’t make a great butter in my opinion.  It turns into a sticky play dough of sorts.  Oh well, next time I will roast them:)

I didn’t want the mix to go to waste though so I decided to make a yummy sauce/dip out of it.  I wanted it to be kind of tangy so I went with a lemon dill flavor and I ended up with this:

IMG_20130204_192736It’s pretty yummy if I do say so myself.  I’ve made a few things with it so far.

I’ve been dipping raw veggies in it,  using it as a sauce a couple times for my spaghetti squash (my fave way!),

In the mix:  Spaghetti squash, peas, romaine lettuce, artichoke hearts, and nutritional yeast

In the mix: Spaghetti squash, peas, romaine lettuce, artichoke hearts, and nutritional yeast

and I also used it in Lasagna roll-ups in place of ricotta.  Dom Loved that;)

So here is the recipe:

Nutty Dill Sauce

  • 3/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 4 TB nutritional yeast
  • 2 TB lemon juice
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 tsp dried dill
  • 2 tsp-3 tsp mustard
  • 3/4 tsp coarse sea salt
  • 2/3 cup water

1.  Blend all ingredients in a food processor  or blender.  Adjust ingredient amounts to your liking!

Makes about 2 cups

I love cooking!  Especially when things turn out well after a fail!

If you try this out let me know!

have you had any kitchen fails/successes lately?

2 thoughts on “Nutty Dill Sauce Recipe!

  1. Pingback: Quinoa Veggie bowl with Lemon Dill Dressing | brave hannah

Leave a Reply

