Intuitive Eating Successes!!

It’s been a bit since I’ve discussed my goals of eating more like a normal person aka intuitively;)

So far it’s been going pretty well.  I’m at a much better place now than I have been but I still have a lot of work to do.  Some days are better than others.

Some days I don’t even think about how much fat or the number of carbs I’ve had.  I don’t let it dictate what I choose to eat at my next meal.  And some days it completely dictates what I eat.

Funny thing our brains!

Some days I don’t even think about time and sometimes I watch the clock too much.

I’ve noticed on days I watch the clock it’s because I haven’t eaten enough that day.  When I allow myself to eat enough then I don’t think about food and my next “meal time”.   I just eat and go about my day until I’m hungry again.  Like I said I’m a work in progress;)

I have had a few success though this past week in the form of eating at restaurants which has been a struggle for me in the past.

My first success was when we were in Idaho Falls for my sisters wedding.  My husband and I had a our own little dinner date at the Hotel Restaurant called the Great American Grill.  It was very delicious.

There weren’t really any vegan options but since I’m not strictly vegan I just went with what I was truly craving.  And that was SALMON!!   I haven’t had it in about 6 months!  I ordered a green salad that came with bleu cheese, candied walnuts, and apple slices and added grilled salmon to it.  It was delicious.   I’m glad I got what I really wanted.  I felt very satisfied afterward.  Sadly I didn’t snap a picture but it was a beauty.  My only complaint is I wish the walnuts weren’t candied.  A little too sweet for my taste.  I prefer plain walnuts in my salad.

My second success was this:

Braised tofu with stir-fried veggies

Braised tofu with stir-fried veggies

We took Dom’s mom out to eat at Red Pavillion for Mother’s day.  For the longest time I’ve tried to stay away from Chinese restaurants for some reason.  I always feel like there is always too much sauce on everything and I don’t know what’s in the sauce and they always give you so much food, I’m worried I’ll eat too much!!! blah blah blah.  I had all these reasons to just avoid them.  I’m glad I went though and even more glad that I ordered exactly what I was craving.  I ordered the braised tofu that had a delicious sauce on it.   Oh yes, I ate the sauce!   The tofu was cooked perfectly and the vegetables were super fresh and crisp!! And guess what I ate till I was satisfied and no more.   Funny thing happens when you actually order what you are craving; you tend to just eat the right portion for you personally and can leave satisfied!!  Such a win this was!!

The third success I had this week happened at Mai Thai.  It was Dom and I’s 3rd wedding anniversary this week and it was an amazing day all around.  After seeing The Great Gatsby (loved it)  we went out to a new to us restaurant.   I was set on ordering whatever I wanted.  The Swimming Angel dish caught my eye so I went with it.

Steamed tofu in a tangy peanut sauce over steamed spinach and broccoli, brown rice on the side:)

Steamed tofu in a tangy peanut sauce over steamed spinach and broccoli, brown rice on the side:)

So glad I ordered this.  Steamed tofu is awesome and I can never say no to peanut sauce (why would I want to?)  I loved this meal so much I’ve recreated it twice at home already.  Can’t get enough.  I think this was also the first time I’ve ever finished a meal before Dom.  Who am I?!!

I’m so glad that it is getting easier for me to go out to eat at any restaurant, not just the safe ones.  I think Dom is happy I’m doing better at this too.  I told him “Aren’t you glad I’m getting better and eliminating my food rules?  I’m so much more fun!!”  He kindly agreed;)

So, now I ask you

Do you have trouble eating out at restaurants?

 

2 thoughts on “Intuitive Eating Successes!!

Leave a Reply

