Photo Friday + A Recipe

Happy Friday everyone!!  I hope you have all had a great week!

My week has been a little up and down but things are looking good today!

Here is a look into the positive parts of my week!

dill dressing 002Tried plantains for the first time!!  I cooked them up in coconut oil like the purely twins!

dill dressing 003Then I topped this salad with them!  I loved them.  This salad was so good!  One of my favorites lately and the plantains made it even better!! I think I’m in love;)

In the salad mix:  greens (from my urban garden!), grated carrot, 2 fried eggs, dill, sauerkraut, a squeeze of orange juice and tahini drizzle.

Tuesday night ended up being unexpectedly awesome!

dill dressing 009We went to the Postal Service concert in town with my sister and her husband!  It was actually sold out but my sister was there and texted me that they were selling a few tickets at the door.  It was such a good show!!  So glad we went!

Thursday morning I tried out a new breakfast.  It was a strange but good combo, also from the purely twins.  I guess I was very inspired by them all week;)

dill dressing 012

1/2 an avocado, 1 banana, a scoop of Vanilla vegan protein powder, and cinnamon all mashed together.  I also added a small spoonful of coconut oil:)  This was so good.  For real.  I love mashes/puddings!

And finally last night I made some soup!  And I loved it.  It’s been a little rainy around here this week so I’ve been cravings soups.

dill dressing 016

Here is the recipe.  I hope you like it!  I personally love blended soups!  My husband doesn’t like the blended consistency as much, but said the flavor was good anyway:)

Coconut Sweet Potato Soup with Plantains and Tofu

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium sweet potato, peeled and cubed
  • 1 cup canned coconut milk (full fat is best)
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond coconut milk
  • 1/2 of a large plantain, chopped
  • 6 oz firm tofu, cubed
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 TB fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 tsp curry
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 1/8-1/4 tsp cayenne (your preference)
  • 2 TB fresh lemon juice
  • Cilantro

1.  Add milks and sweet potato to a medium saucepan and bring to a boil.  Stir in 3 oz of tofu, ginger, curry, coriander, salt, and cayenne.  Reduce heat and cover.   Let cook until sweet potatoes are soft.

2.  While that is cooking, heat 1 tsp of coconut oil in a skillet.  Add the remaining 3 oz of cubed tofu and let cook for a about a minute, then add in plantains.  Let cook all the way through, stirring occasionally, then set aside.

3.  Once the potatoes are cooked pour the soup, let cool for a few minutes then pour into a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.  Add in the lemon juice and blend some more.  May need to add a little bit of water.

4.  Split soup up evenly into 2 bowls and split the tofu and plantain mixture up evenly into the bowls as well.

5.  Top with cilantro and enjoy.

These crackers pair well with this soup:)

Let me know if you try this recipe out!

I hope everyone has a great weekend!!

What’s the funnest thing you have done this week? Best thing you ate?

6 thoughts on “Photo Friday + A Recipe

  1. my goodness, that soup looks absolutely delicious! I’ll definitely be putting that on my menu for this week 🙂 I love coconut + sweet potato combos!

  2. I always seem to stop by on the right days; that soup looks awesome! You know I have such a palate for Thai-ish foods. The coconut milk always sells me. Your Strange but Good dish from the Purely Twins sounds right up my alley too! I hope you are having a great week, Hannah girl!

    • Hey Brittany! How can we be expected to ever say no to coconut milk and Thai food?! That’s would just be wrong! It’s been a busy but great week around here! Hope your’s has been too. Looks like your job is going awesome!! So happy for you!

  3. Hannah, I LOVE the food you post. I feel tons older than you (32 , eep!) and I’m at zero fitness level (long story…)…but wonder if we could chat? just as a blog friends type thing? I have so many questions about food and fitness and I think I totally am loving your foods 🙂 Please email me if you can or want, I super appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

