WIAW #2: Cool Summer TrEATs

It  has been sooo hot here lately!! But I’m not complaining.  I know it doesn’t last long so I have to savor it before it gets cold again!! Today I’ll share with you some of the foods I’ve been loving lately to try and beat the heat:) But before I do that and I want to share some fun pictures with you!

My friend Rachel asked Dom and I to join her and her husband for a 4th of July themed photo shoot just to add to her amazing portfolio (check out her work here!)  I loved them all but here are just a few pics from that night:

931226_536026109768497_1825857493_n

1012785_535887266449048_1938791853_n

1010991_10200167451212150_40959414_n

Love this girl!

Alright well moving on to the food stuff.

When you need a sweet healthy treat to cool you off give these a shot:

2013 015Frozen peanut butter filled dates!  

So yummy and so easy.

Simply take as many dates as you want to freeze at a time, slice one side open, fill with a little peanut butter (about 1/2-1 tsp each) place in a container with a lid and freeze.  When you need just a little treat during the day, or before a workout, or whatever have 1 or a few!  Even though there is no chocolate involved they taste like reese’s cups to me when they are frozen.  No joke!! Try them and let me know if you agree!

The next thing I’ve been loving at all times of day are smoothies!!  I had this one after my workout this morning and loved it!!  It has a great balance of carbs and protein to help you build lean muscle after exercise.  And the added oat bran gives such a great smooth texture.

2013 019

Nectarine Banana Smoothie

Serves 1

  • 1/2 nectarine
  • 1/2 banana, frozen if possible
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened almond coconut milk or water
  • 1 scoop plant based vanilla protein powder
  • 3 TB of oat bran
  • 1/2 tsp of spirulina or handful of spinach
  • 4 ice cubes
  • sprinkle of cinnamon

1.  Place everything in the blender except ice and blend, add ice and blend until smooth!

2.  Add a little more oat bran on top for some texture:)

Hope you will try these out!  And as always let me know what you think!

Have a fabulous day!

What are your favorite summer foods?

6 thoughts on “WIAW #2: Cool Summer TrEATs

  1. As usual, your eats are so up my alley. Love. You and your hubby are SO gorgeous. My gosh my gosh. I need to email u back (thanks for the message) …so much to say or think (unfortunately my fatigue and no exercise + late night binging and major gut problems continue 😦 Oh my , the shame 😦
    That smoothie looks yum…is its a 30 gram scoop of protein? (3 or 4 tbsps. in a scoop?). I have a hemp protein only at home now, need to look around for something cheap…is spirulina or raw/ or frozen spinach…which one better for someone with a weak digestive system like me? And if I have no oat bran,,,,maybe I can try to add flax? Or maybe that would be too funky and fiberific with hemp…not sure. Those dates + nut butter are phenomenal…my issue is that I compulsively eat that stuff (like I will eat entire bags of grapes and cheeries with dark chocolate late at night)…yet I don’t try to change. I HAVE to change…its just SO much to all this and I need to recenter somehow. Somehow.

    • Sorry for the late response but thank you for your comment!
      The scoop for my protein is about 27 grams so about 1/4 cup. I would just go with whatever the serving size is for your protein:) Spirulina is very easy to digest so it’s a great option for digestive issues but so is raw and frozen spinach so you really can’t go wrong with either of them. You can leave out the oat bran or replace it with oatmeal or a TB of flax or psyllium husk. As for the compulsive eating things will never change unless you put the effort into it. It’s tough but it can be overcome. I think the first step is to stop beating yourself up about it. You can do this.

    • It’s in between thick and thin if that makes sense:) You can always make it thicker by adding more ice or frozen fruit or using less liquid or do the opposite if you want it thinner:)

Leave a Reply

