What is GPP?

As of Sunday I am offcially a certified GPP trainer!!  And I couldn’t be happier:)

This past weekend was truly life changing for me as I attended the GPP Intensive Training.  I met some wonderful people and learned sooooo much!  I feel so much more confident in my knowledge of health and fitness and in what GPP is all about.   I feel even more passionate about this program than I did before and I just want everyone to know about it!  I’d love to share with you now some of the things I learned this weekend and why I’m hoping to bring it Boise!

Like I said, I had an increase of knowledge this weekend and that is thanks to Neil, the founder of GPP Fitness.   He is so awesome and kind, not to mention knowledgeable!!  I appreciated how willing he was to share all he’s learned with us.

gpp 2013 001

So let’s get to it.

GPP stands for General Physical Preparedness.   It is not about being able to lift the most weight, being the leanest, or fastest human.  Where is the purpose in that?  How will that serve you in your everyday day life?  GPP is all about having purposeful workouts and eating in a healthful way so that you can go out and enjoy life with out the limits of disease or injury.

From their website:

“Instead, get your workout in and go home.  Go be a human.  Do things that interest/edify you.  Let your exercise enable you to contribute to your family, your community and/or society in more positive ways. “

Let your fitness serve you.  Not the other way around.

GPP is about achieving Optimal Health.  This includes having the right balance of the following six aspects of health:

  • mental
  • emotional
  • social
  • spiritual
  • fiscal
  • physical

Physical being at the bottom because it is the base for balancing out  the other 5 aspects.

“To be healthy, truly healthy, you must strive for balance within these.  Too much, or too little of any one, or of several combinations of these aspects will leave you miserable and wanting.  In other words, chasing perfection in fitness (or any of the other aspects of health) generally takes from other aspects.  This leaves you unhealthy over-all.  Some of the least healthy people we know have perfect six-packs and incredible work capacity.  Yet, their work lives, home lives, and spiritual lives suffer greatly.  By the same regards.  One who does not have adequate fitness cannot be healthy either.  Remember – BALANCE.”  

I love that!  It’s so true.  I know in the past I have put too much focus on just working out to look a certain way and the other areas in my life suffered.  I still have a lot to learn but I’ve come a long way in balancing out my fitness and the rest of my life and I’m so much happier.

So this all sounds wonderful and grand right?  But how does it work?

Well, each and every one of the GPP workouts is designed with a purpose.  They are made to give you the best results in a short amount of time, usually 20-30 min.  They follow a minimalist approach.  Doing all that is necessary (including the hard stuff) but not one thing more.  Remember our fitness serves us.

As you can see you can’t sum up what this program is all about in one sentence but hopefully this helps you better understand that these workouts are not just another workout program.  It is a lifestyle.

I will leave you with some of my favorite things I learned from the Intensive training.

1.  “Perfection–we don’t believe in it or the pursuit of it.”

2. “A so called “perfectly sculpted” body may be a result of fitness but it is not the pursuit.”  The pursuit of that may look good on, but it serves no purpose; what does serve a purpose is being being the best version of you.

gpp 2013 002

On the wall at GPP Fitness

 

3.  “Movement begets better movement.”  It’s ok not to be the best at a certain move at first.   Moving in general serves a purpose and will lead to improvement.

4.  Performing Deadlifts suppresses stress!!  It also causes a hormonal effect by boosting testosterone, which helps build muscle.  It boosts the production of the human growth hormone which helps heal wounds, stretch marks, etc.

5.  It’s not just about exercise, it’s about teaching your body to change:)

I know I probably sound super preachy, but I just really love this program.  I know it works (I’ve seen it in myselft and others).  If your goal is obtaining overall health while also challenging yourself through exercise then I encourage you to check out GPP’s website and try out their workouts!  Please don’t hesitate to send me an email or comment with any questions.  I would love to help you in your training in any way I can.

xo

Have you ever tried one of GPP’s workouts or are you interested in doing so?  

 

6 thoughts on “What is GPP?

  1. Pingback: What is Heavy Lifting and a Brave Fitness Workout #2 | brave hannah

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award | brave hannah

Leave a Reply

