WIAW #3-Jicama Edition

I go through phases every few weeks. Food phases that is. Times where I just can’t get enough of a certain food! Of course there are always constants in my daily food choices. I.e. peanut butter, bananas, zucchinni, avocado, greens. But these past few weeks for me roasted jicama has been where it’s at!!

So allow me to share one of my favorite ways to eat it. First the basics.
If you are unaware of what jicama is, it is a delicious vegetable that is sort of a cross between a turnip, an apple, and celery.  🙂  It looks like this:

0903p22-jicama-mIt has some great health benefits such as:

  • low calories but high in vital nutrients
  • helps your body absorb calcium because of the inulin it contains
  • is a pre-biotic aka promotes good bacteria growth in the body which helps to have healthy digestion
  • high in fiber, vitamin C, potassium, magnesium, and iron

How to roast:  

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Peel the jicama.  Slice it however you want it.  I like to do a mix of thin and thick slices.  You could also cut it into sticks to be more like fries.
  3. You can season it however you’d like.  I usually leave mine plain and then season it as I wish when I use it.
  4. Place on an oiled pan (I use coconut oil) or on a parchment lined pan
  5. Bake for 20-25 minutes flipping about halfway through.

Now onto the Salad I’ve been enjoying lately.  Quite a few times already:)

Roasted Jicama and Curried Tempeh Salad

Serves 2

  • 6 oz of organic Tempeh, grated
  • 2 tsp of braggs liquid aminos (soy sauce or another soy sauce alternative is great too:)
  • 4 tsp of natural sunflower seed butter (tahini or peanut butter would be great too)
  • 2 TB of Nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 tsp of curry powder
  • a squeeze of lemon
  • ~1 cup of roasted jicama
  • a few handfuls of mixed greens
  • 10 cherry tomatoes
  • 2/3-3/4 cup roasted squash of your choice (Kabocha or Acorn goes great with this)
  • Optional:  Sauerkraut

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees

2.  In a bowl, mix together grated tempeh, liquid aminos, sunflower seed butter, nutrtional yeast, curry, and lemon juice.

3.  Layer jicama, squash, and tempeh onto a pan and heat for 10-12 minutes.  Just until warmed up.

4.  While that is cooking split the greens and tomatoes between two plates.

5.  Once the tempeh jicama mix is done cooking split evenly  between the two plates.  Top with sauerkraut if using and extra Sunflower seed butter or tahini and enjoy!

Note:  I have also done this with tofu which was great as well but a much softer consistency.  It became more of a dip on the salad which is definitely not a bad thing.  I found it to be very delicious!  I’m sure garbanzo beans would also be great!

Tempeh Version

Tempeh Version

Tofu Version

Tofu Version

Hope you will try this out!  As always let me know if you do!

Oh and before I forget, check out this great recipe for Jicama Tofu Nachos from Laura at sprint2thetable.com.  Such a yummy recipe and it’s what inspired me to do the whole jicama layering/salad thing!

peace.

Do you go through food phases?  

What’s your current favorite food?

2 thoughts on “WIAW #3-Jicama Edition

Leave a Reply

