Fitness Friday: Hip Abs

Happy Friday!!

Hope it’s been a great week!  For me, this week flew by as usual and I’m really looking forward to the weekend.

So today I have a workout to share, since it’s been a bit since I’ve posted one.

The other day my Mom asked me what some good exercises were for hips and lower abs.  I’m glad she asked because it led me to googling why having strong hips are important.

As I’ve said before, having a strong core is super important.  We use our core/abs basically all the time.  Our core helps hold us up, helps us to lift more weight, squat more weight, prevents back pain and injuries, etc.    I’ve never really thought about how having strong mobile hips might help us though.  Here’s what I learned thanks to this article:

  • Most of us sit way too much. (guilty!) This isn’t good because it weakens our glutes and shortens the hip flexors.
  • When those muscles are weakened the lower back tries to compensate and the back isn’t set up for doing a lot of heavy activity so this causes lower back pain.  No fun!
  • When we strengthen our hips we can gain better mobility which will help reduce any lower back pain or knee pain you may have.

There is a lot more in the article but those are the main points.  So yeah, I would definitely recommend working out those hips and abs with this workout.  Plus there is no equipment necassary although you can add weight if you want for an extra challenge:)

Hip Abs Workout

20 minute workout

Do each exercise for 50 seconds, rest for 10 seconds before moving on to the next exercise.  Complete 4 rounds total.  Remember to push yourself to get the most out of your workout!

 

Let me know what you think if you try this out!

Have a healthy happy weekend!

Any fun plans for the weekend?

 

Leave a Reply

