Five on Friday, 2 recipes included!

1.  I set a goal this week to eat more fruits which I’m happy to say I’ve done!  And I’ve been feeling great about it! So glad I no longer fear eating lots of fruit:)  Here is one of my favorite things I’ve made this week as a pre-workout breakfast.  Banana Coconut “nice” cream! (Wish I could remember where I first saw it called nice cream.  So fitting)  If you haven’t tried banana as ice cream, do it! It really is nice too.  Nice for our bodies, tastebuds, and animals:) And it’s actually great for anytime of day.  I will post the recipe at the bottom of the post.

IMG_20131111_085236

2. At the beginning of this week I came across some stuff about the 80/10/10 diet and the Banana Girl Diet.  For some reason I am very intrigued by this way of eating!! I mean seriously that’s a lot of fruit!  But it seems to work for a lot of people and that’s great:)    I think I might try it, just to try it.  Likely only for a week or so.  I like to try new things just to educate myself on different diets and to, of course, find how my body thrives with different eating styles.   By experimenting with different ways of eating I found that I enjoy and do well on a good amount of healthy fats with moderate carbs and protein.  I’ve also found that I am more satisfied in the morning  and have better digestion  when I have a more carb and fat filled breakfast (i.e. oat bran and nut butter) than a higher protein breakfast (i.e. an omelet with veggies).  So although this high carb low fat vegan diet is a bit different than what I’m used to, it’s nothing like I’ve ever tried before and so why not?  I’ve never really done that high of a carb/fruit diet and I’d like to see how my body reacts to it.  Who know’s it might be really cool.  At least for a bit.  I can’t stay away from my avocados and nuts for too long;)

3.  Mr. K is definitely a cool cat but he is also TROUBLE!!  Somehow he bit the tiniest hole in a tube on the side of the refrigerator that goes to the ice machine causing a small leak.  Good thing is he adorable and lovable the majority of the time.  We sure do like him:)

20131028_193938

4.  After taking on the challenge of having a different breakfast everyday of October, I noticed my dinners were often the same!  So this month I had a plan in my head to switch up dinner as much as possible.  I set a goal to have a different dinner at least 4 nights a week.  Well so far I’ve had a different dinner every night this month!!  Several of the nights have been soup (it’s just been so chilly!) but always a different soup of course:)  I will share my recipe for carrot ginger soup below!

IMG_20131113_185833

5.  Last thing for this week, I am an Aunt for the 16th time  (on my side of the family)!!!  My older brother and his girlfriend welcomed a new baby boy into the world on 11/12/13!  He is super adorable.  I haven’t had the chance to meet him yet as they live a ways away but hopefully I can soon!  I’m so happy for them!

Now for those Recipes:

Banana Coconut “Nice” Cream

Serves 1

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 TB of canned coconut milk (note: I like to freeze leftover canned coconut milk in ice cube trays to use for smoothies and such.  I measure 1 TB into each cube, so for this recipe I used 2 cubes:)
  • 2 pitted dates
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • 1-2 TB if needed

Blend everything together until smooth.  Top with anything you’d like or eat plain and enjoy!

My toppings of choice were 1 tsp each of chia seeds, coconut butter, and bee pollen.

Carrot Ginger Soup with Smoky Tofu

Serves 1 (can be easily doubled, tripled, etc)

for the soup:

  • 2 med-large carrots, peeled and sliced. (about 1 1/2-2 cups)
  • 2 TB canned coconut milk
  • 1 cup low sodium vegetable broth
  • 2 oz firm tofu, pressed
  • 2 tsp fresh grated ginger
  • 1/2 tsp of braggs liquid aminos (or equivalent i.e. soy sauce, tamari, etc)
  • 1/4 tsp coriander

for the tofu topping:

  • 1 oz tofu, pressed and cubed or sliced
  • 1 tsp braggs liquid aminos
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • a handful of fresh cilantro

1.  Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.

2.  marinade the topping tofu in the aminos and acv for a couple minutes and then pop it in the oven for 8 min.  flip and do 8 min. more until it reaches a firm texture that’s a little crispy on the outside. ( I think I ended up doing about 20 min but don’t really remember now so just check every 8 minutes and flip each time:)

3.  Meanwhile, in a small saucepan add in the carrots and grated ginger on medium heat.  Let cook for about 1 minute then add the broth, coconut milk, and seasonings.

4.  Bring to a boil and then turn down the heat slightly.  Add i the 2 oz of tofu and let it cook for about 10 minutes or until carrots are cooked through.

5.  Taste and adjust seasonings as needed.

6.  Use an immersion blender or a regular blender to puree your soup.

7.  Place in a bowl and top with cilantro and tofu topping.  Enjoy!

Have a wonderful weekend!  I hope you will try these recipes out and as always let me know if you do.

What is your favorite fruit?

Do you tend to have the same things for dinner a few times a week?

 

 

 

2.

 

Leave a Reply

