Job talk and a Smoothie Recipe

Happy Monday to you!

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend.

I guess whether or not you had a good weekend would have to depend on if you are a Broncos or a Seahawks fan;)

I myself don’t get into football or the superbowl for that matter.  This year I was happy for the outcome though because my Mom is from Seattle and she and my Dad are big Seahawks fans!  Plus Seattle is one of my favorite places.

Anyway, it’s a bit of a weird week for me because Friday was my last day working at the coffee shop that I’ve worked at for 7 years!  It was a good job and I worked with even better people, but it is time to move on.  When I say move on, I mean it’s time for me to stay at home all day watching my “soaps” and eating spoonfuls of coconut oil mixed with peanut butter.  Ok maybe that’s what I wish it meant;) What it really means is that I’m now going to really be focusing on building my Personal Training business, Brave Fitness, LLC.  I’m very happy about that but I’m also very nervous.  It’s a big change for me, I’m nervous and excited and a little overwhelmed all at the same time.

Nothing Changes Art[1]

I saw this on instagram last week and thought it really applied to my life at the moment:)

I want to give a shout out to my husband, one of my best friends, Tasha, and my Mom for being so super supportive and encouraging when I have felt overwhelmed at this big change:)  If anyone has any advice on building up a successful personal training business I’m all ears!

Moving on to this Monday morning, as I’ve mentioned recently I’ve been doing more weight lifting again and I’m loving it!  I’m also really loving mixing up my post-workout smoothies, trying to fit as much goodness and nutrition in them as I can!  Here is what I had today after a heavy leg workout:

IMG_20140203_141342

Cherry and Lime Mango Beet Smoothie

Serves 1

  • 1/2 cup frozen mango
  • 1/4 frozen cherries
  • 3 baby carrots
  • 1/4-1/2 cup frozen beets
  • 1/2-1 TB each: fresh parsley and cilantro
  • Juice of half a lime
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 3/4 water

Place everything into a high-speed blender and blend until smooth.  Add ice if needed.

Optional: top with bee pollen and hemp seeds.

I hope you will try this out!  And in case you are worried about the veggie taste, don’t be.  All you will taste is the sweetness from the protein and the fruit:)

Have a great day!

4 thoughts on “Job talk and a Smoothie Recipe

Leave a Reply

