What I Learned in Seattle

This past weekend Dom and I flew to Seattle to visit some family, to meet my newest nephew  and to just get away for awhile.

On the plane!  This was our first plane ride together:)

On the plane! This was our first plane ride together:)

Honestly, our little getaway couldn’t have come at a better time!  For one, Dom really needed a vacation.  He has been working A LOT lately!  I’m so proud of him and grateful for how hard he works, he deserved a break:)  Another reason why it came at the perfect time was for my sake.  Last week was not a good week for me.  Since quitting my job at the end of January I’ve had a lot of time to myself and a lot of alone time with my thoughts!  I was feeling worried and stressed about a few things and I also was falling into the comparison trap.  I was having a lot of negative thoughts toward myself and all of this caused me to not sleep well at all!  The stress plus the lack of sleep was taking a toll on me health wise.  My digestion was terrible and my skin was breaking out which only made me feel worse.

And then I went on vacation.  And all of the sudden I felt so much better.  I was able to eat and not feel sick, my skin started clearing up, and I slept great.  Because I love being in Seattle and near the water, I’d like to say that it was that that did it, meaning we would HAVE   to move there!  Of course being around family was a big help but I think a lot of the reason I was feeling so good about myself was that I rarely checked instagram and I didn’t do any blog reading.   My face wasn’t stuck to a screen, I wasn’t comparing myself to anyone, and I wasn’t comparing my dinner to anyone.

images

I’m not saying my reading blogs is bad thing or that the blogs or instagram accounts I read and follow are something negative that I should stay away from.  That couldn’t be further from the truth!  I’ve met and interacted with some  wonderful people who I admire through these things. All the blogs I linked to are full of positivity and love!  They have helped me learn a lot about myself through reading them.  I’ve challenged myself, I’ve learned how to heal my digestion,  I’ve tried a number of amazing recipes and workouts and learned that I need to be eating more to fuel my active lifestyle.  I’ve learned to be more accepting of myself (most of the time, obviously this is always a work in progress!). These are all great things!

My point is it is easy to get caught up in comparing ourselves or our lives to others on social media when we are bombarded with photo after photo of everyone looking so fit, strong, happy, and healthy!  But I have to remind myself that what I see on blogs and instagram is not the whole picture.  I have to remind myself that I don’t put everything on my blog or instagram and it’s very unlikely that others do.  Those are just places to share the highlights of our life!  And that is ok!  I love all the positive things I see on social media, I wouldn’t want it any other way.   I need to remember to step back sometimes and just be.  It’s ok not to be caught up on all the blogs, it’s ok not to check instagram several times during the day, it’s ok to just be me, and be happy and content with who I am.  I am of worth all on my own.  And so are you!

download

We got back on Monday night and I found myself almost falling into the comparison trap again:(   I found myself over thinking some things yesterday so I took a moment to just step back and relax and instead of checking instagram I read a book for awhile and I felt so much better.  My thoughts were quieted.  I am really trying to keep the good feelings I had while on vacation with me and keep the over-analyzing out!

I will continue to read blogs and use instagram but I will definitely be cutting back.   If I start feeling overwhelmed with negative feelings again than I will know it that is time to step back and relax but hopefully I won’t let it get that far in the future.

I hope this is all making sense!  I hope you all know that you are awesome, just as you are!  So remember to be you.   Let your unique personality shine through.  Let your light and love take over any negative self-talk you might have or any comparisons that cross your mind.

Personality-begins-where-comparison-endsHere is one blog post that I loved from Robyn!  Such a good read.  I bookmarked it so I could read it again and again when I am feeling down.

Thanks for stopping by.  I will be back tomorrow with a new workout:)

Love Hannah

 

Leave a Reply

