Green Smoothie Girl Lecture

Welcome to Friday my friends!

Last night I had the opportunity to attend a class/lecture by Robyn Openshaw aka The Green Smoothie Girl.  I went with my Mom, 2 of my sisters, and a friend.  I’m really glad I was able to go to it.  I had heard of her blog before but  for whatever reason, had never checked it out!  Because I didn’t know much about Robyn, I wasn’t sure what to expect at the class.  I was happy to find out that she teaches about how following a plant-based, whole foods diet (or at least eating more plants and a lot less animal protein and processed foods) can be extremely beneficial to your health.  As you know I absolutely agree with this 100%.  I have been eating this way for sometime and it has helped me in a lot of ways.  So although I didn’t learn too much that I didn’t know already, it was great to get a boost of energy and get excited about living a healthy life!

After the lecture I wanted to challenge myself.  Since I don’t need to eliminate anything from my diet since I avoid processed “foods” anyway, I decided I could start adding more smoothies into my life again.  I feel really good inside and out when I’m having a smoothie a day on a regular basis:)  My challenge for myself is to have a quart size smoothie once a day until my birthday at the end of the month:)  By then it will hopefully be a healthy habit of mine.  It might be a smoothie for breakfast, snack, lunch, whatever!  So I have 23 more days to go.  Day 1 is done!  Oh, and I even got Dom to have a smoothie along with his cereal today! Proud wife moment;)

Banana+apple+blueberries+raw coconut milk+spinach

Banana+apple+blueberries+raw coconut milk+spinach

 

If you want to join me, please do!  Follow me on instagram and post your smoothie photos so I can see!  I will be using the hashtag #quartofsmoothieaday.  Feel free to use it too (even if it’s not a quart, any size will do)!

One more thing that I loved from the lecture was a quote she shared.  I believe it was her Mother-in-law that said it.  I could be wrong though!

“It’s not what you do once in awhile that will kill you.  It’s what you do everyday that will save you.”

I loved that and it stuck with me because for a long time I was very strict with my eating and exercise habits.  I would not leave room for any fun foods or extra servings of food that I loved.  That is not health.  And it’s not how I want to live.  I’m a lot less strict now which is a good thing.  I still struggle from time to time though with allowing myself something I’m craving that I feel isn’t good for me, even if it’s just an extra scoop of peanut butter!  Luckily this doesn’t happen too often and I can usually go with the flow and eat what my body is craving.  And because I tend to eat very clean the majority of the time I know I need to be easier on myself.  Anyway, that’s why I liked the quote so much!

That’s all for now I guess!  I hope you all have a great weekend!  And definitely check out Robyn’s blog.  She’s got some great information on there!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Green Smoothie Girl Lecture

  1. I will definitely be using this hash tag! I love it. I find that the only way my meals keep me full and satisfied is if I eat exactly what I want. With enough practice and understanding you can actually feel yourself craving those healthy foods, and a treat here or there makes you healthier!

    I am actually obsessed with this quote now. “It’s not what you do once in awhile that will kill you. It’s what you do everyday that will save you.” Thanks so much for sharing it with me!

    • I totally agree with you, Amanda! And for the most part I do a pretty good job of listening and eating intuitively but sometimes it’s very difficult for me! Thanks for your wise words and encouragement!
      Yes, isn’t that a great quote?! Glad you like it! And I’m so glad you are tagging your smoothies with me!

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award | brave hannah

  3. Pingback: Friday’s Five Favorites | brave hannah

Leave a Reply

