Friday’s Five Favorites

Hello and happy Friday!  I hope everyone has had a fantastic week.

I know I have.  It’s been a busy one, but it’s been filled with goodness.  Here are my five favorite things from this week!

1.  This smoothie recipe.  Let’s call it the Glamorous Green Smoothie.  Because it’s green and makes you feel fantastic!  I’ve enjoyed this smoothie a couple times for my quart of smoothie a day challenge (which i’m really enjoying)!  It so satisfyingly creamy.

Serves 1

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 3 leaves of romaine lettuce
  • 1/2 of a cucumber or 1-2 stalks or celery
  • 1/2 avocado
  • small knob of ginger, grated
  • 3/4 scoop of chocolate or vanilla vegan protein powder (great with either flavor)
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 2 ice cubes
  • Optional: 1 tsp of maca powder
  • Optional:  if you don’t want to use a protein powder I would suggest adding 1 date some more sweetness.

Blend everything together and enjoy!

Screenshot_2014-04-15-12-34-39-1 IMG_20140411_091001

2. Ingrid Michaelson’s new album that came out this week.  I think she is super cool and her new album does not disappoint!

IMG_20140415_1219423.  This website I came across, ResponsibleEatingAndLiving.com.  I have been looking for a good podcast to listen to that focuses on a whole foods, plant-based lifestyle and I finally found it in this website!  It has some great stuff on it and I’ve listened to some interesting interviews this week while at work including this one with Tom Campbell, MD .  If your interested in eating more whole plant based foods, check it out!

4.  Celebrating Dom and I’s 5 year anniversary.  That’s our total time together.  Next month will be our 4 year wedding anniversary!  Anyway, last night we hiked up to the spot where we had one of our first dates.  It was nice to spend that time together.  I’m a pretty lucky girl to have spent the last 5 years of my life with him <3.

5.  As far as workouts go this was my favorite for the week.  Probably because it involved doing Power cleans, which I haven’t done for awhile!  It felt good.  Well bad, then good once I was done;)

Here we are back in the old days where Dom tried to drop me in nasty water.

Here we are back in the old days where Dom tried to drop me in nasty water.

Here is the breakdown of Brave Fitness Workout #4

 Core Craze Workout

Do 3 rounds for time:

This took me just over 22 minutes.  Let’s see if you can beat my time!

I guess that about covers my week.  I hope you all have a very happy Easter weekend spent with loved ones!

What was your favorite thing from this week?

Are you a fan of Ingrid Michaelson?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Five Favorites

  1. If I recall correctly, you had attempted to push me into nasty water first. You subsequently professed your undying love for me and offered me a goat and 3 chickens if I would take your hand in marriage. I just wanted to set the record straight.

  2. ^^lol
    this smoothie sounds like all the ones i make but without protein powder (i only buy unsweetened plain..yuck!) but i suggest you add the juice of 1/2 a lime! or a whole peeled lime if you want to get crazy!

    my favourite thing this week was reading lots of “healthy at 100” i suggest you read it!

    i only know one ingrid michaelson song.. “the way i am” i think it was in a commercial and i downloaded it instantly. i love that song though, is that song a good representation of her music?

Leave a Reply

